Fees & Funding

Tuition Fees

In 2016-18 the fees for the whole two-year course are expected to be:

€8,000 for EU nationals and
€16,000 for non-EU nationals.


Erasmus Mundus Scholarships

The Mundus Journalism Consortium is able to offer a limited number of ‘Erasmus Mundus’ student scholarships for students entering the programme from 2012 – 2016. The scholarships are divided into category A and B scholarships. For the 2016-18 edition of the Mundus Journalism programme the consortium will award:

Erasmus Mundus Category A scholarships for third country (non-EU) students

Category A scholarships are expected to be worth a maximum of €47,000 for the 2016-2018 programme. The fee is subtracted from the scholarship. There is free insurance for Mundus stipend holders.

Category A scholarships can be awarded to students from countries other than the 28 EU member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain) and the EEA-EFTA states (Norway, Lichtenstein, Iceland, Turkey and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM)). 

Furthermore, you must comply with the 12 months rule: you are not a resident nor have carried out your main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the above mentioned countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Additional Category A scholarships are expected to be available for a limited number of students from:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, DPR Korea, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Asia (Region 6)
Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, DPR Korea, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam.

Central Asia
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

Central Asia (Region 7)
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

Middle East
Iran, Iraq, Yemen.

Latin America
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela.

South Africa

Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law.

Middle East
Irak, Iran, Yemen.

Gulf countries
Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

African, Caribbean, Pacific
Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo – Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia- Federated States of, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor Leste - Democratic Republic of, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Erasmus Mundus Category B scholarships for European (EU/EEA) students and others

Category B scholarships are expected to be worth a maximum of €34,000 for the 2016-2018 programme.

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any student who does not fulfill the criteria for a Category A scholarship. The Category B scholarships are connected to the ‘Study Abroad’ programme at our non-European partners (Please find further details in the application form).

European students who are granted a Mundus scholarship will have to study module 5 and 6 in the spring semester at one of our global partner universities: University of California at Berkeley; University of Technology Sydney; and Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (also Module 4 in Chile).

General EU rules for Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

Students fulfilling the eligibility criteria for both Category A and B (eg. students with a double nationality) must select the Category of their choice. As a result, they are entitled to apply only to one of the two categories of scholarship at a time.

Students must have obtained a first higher education degree before the course start of the Mundus Journalism.

Individuals who have already benefited from an Erasmus Mundus scholarship for a Master's programme are not eligible for a second scholarship for another Erasmus Mundus Master's programme.

Students benefiting from an Erasmus Mundus scholarship cannot benefit from another European Commission grant while pursuing their Erasmus Mundus Master’s studies.


Erasmus+ stipends (all students can apply)

All Mundus Journalism students can apply for Erasmus+ stipends for the second year of their Master’s studies. Information and assistance on the Erasmus+ stipends will be provided at Aarhus University after the start of the course. The stipend is about 230 Euros per month for 10 months. So far all eligible students have received this stipend.


Erasmus+ Masters Loans

Erasmus+ Master Loans allow students to apply for financial support for their Master's studies abroad. Loans will be offered by participating banks and student loan agencies on favorable conditions to mobile students, including better than market interest rates and up to two years to allow graduates to get into a job before beginning repayment
The loan scheme is being established in cooperation with the European Investment Fund (Part of the EIB Group) and will be gradually rolled out across the Erasmus+  programme countries over the first few years of the programme.
The loan is up to €18,000 for a two-year Master's course.

Students should apply directly to participating banks or student loan agencies. MicroBank  in Spain is the first bank to participate, targeting both outgoing and incoming Master students.

The Erasmus+ Master Loan Scheme was launched in mid-June 2015, with a gradual roll-out across the Erasmus+ programme countries. As more banks participate, an updated list of participating banks and student loan companies will be published on http://ec.europa.eu/education/opportunities/higher-education/masters-loans_en.htm

Scholarship databases